Vegan Slow-Carb Diet

Week 2 Days 3 and 4

Tuesday Exercise: First Spartan workout since the Asheville Super in late July. Today’s workout was the first I’ve ever done with no burpees!

Breakfast: The last of the pinto beans with tofu scramble and Irish Breakfast tea with stevia.

Lunch: The last of the chili that I made last week and froze over the weekend.

Dinner: It was raining cats and dogs and I had some produce to use up, so I threw it all in a pot with some homemade veggie broth and mashed Great Northern beans and called it soup.

Honestly, I wish I hadn’t mashed the beans because it seemed to thin the soup further (it was already thin on account of too much broth), but…I got fed and there’s soup left over.

Wednesday exercise: 9-mile run through Forest Acres.

Breakfast: Since I am running low on beans but still had tempeh and a bunch of new produce, I had a salad for breakfast. That’s right. Baked tempeh on a bed of spinach. Because I didn’t have the time or inclination to cook any more tofu scramble this morning, was more thirsty than hungry after my hot and humid run, and because I knew I still had peanuts in my desk drawer at work.

Mid-morning: You guessed it: peanuts!

Lunch: Leftover vadai with hummus and the last of the ginger cabbage.

Thursday: My customary day off from the gym left ample time to cook breakfast. So I made red cabbage. Seriously.

Leave a comment